UCD Newman House

UCD Newman House

UCD Newman House, located at 85–86 St. Stephen’s Green, is the historic home of the Catholic University of Ireland, the precursor of University College Dublin. The complex consists of two of the city’s finest Georgian townhouses and the university’s Victorian assembly hall, the Aula Maxima – now home to Museum of Literature Ireland (MoLI).

The Apollo Room
UCD Newman House, Stephen’s Green

No. 85 St. Stephen’s Green was built in 1738 by Richard Cassels, architect of Powerscourt House and Russborough House, and is notable for its exquisite baroque plasterwork by the Lafranchini brothers. The adjoining townhouse at No. 86 was constructed in 1765 and features superb examples of rococo stuccowork by the distinguished Dublin School of Plaster Workers.

Cardinal John Henry Newman
painting by Jane Fortescue Seymour, Lady Coleridge, courtesy of UCD

The building takes its name from the theologian and educationalist Dr. John Henry Newman, who was rector when the Catholic University was founded in 1854. UCD Newman House also boasts many literary and cultural associations. The poet Gerard Manley Hopkins lived here during his time as Professor of Classics at the university, and James Joyce was a student here before graduating with a BA in 1902. Other famous Irish writers to have studied at UCD Newman House include Flann O’Brien, Kate O’Brien and Maeve Binchy.

Today UCD Newman House hosts events and tours of the historic buildings as well as university activities. For enquiries contact Ruth Ferguson, Curator UCD Newman House at 01 4779807 or [email protected]

"What has better claim to the purest and fairest of possessions of nature than the seat of wisdom?"

John Henry Newman

This site uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. See our privacy policy.

A digital radio station for Irish literature, broadcasting from UCD Newman House

listen to live stream